MEC Officers

The Master Executive Council (MEC) structure is central to our union because it ensures that your directly-elected leaders of our union can coordinate through one body to address our issues with management and provide support for each other at work. This structure is fundamental to any union because it allows us to use the power and influence of our collective voices to protect our jobs and advance our goals.

In our union only your directly-elected Local Council Presidents can make decisions that affect us, serving as the voting members of the MEC. Local Council Presidents also elect MEC Officers who serve to coordinate our collective voice and interface with management on the issues that affect us across the system.

On September 6, 2016 the three pre-merger MECs will be called together for a Special Meeting to merge the MECs and address all of the necessary transition issues associated with doing so. The meeting is open to active members in good standing.

September 6, 2016 Special Meeting
10:30 am – 6:00 pm
First Floor CWA Conference Room at
501 Third Street, NW / Washington, DC

The first step in merging the MEC is to elect MEC Officers: President, Vice President and Secretary-Treasurer. All active members in good standing are eligible to run for office, although these positions are not entry level and AFA-CWA experience is essential. Our Constitution and Bylaws Article VII covers the duties and responsibilities of the MEC President, Vice President and Secretary-Treasurer.

The September 6th Special Meeting will begin with elections of MEC Officers to fill the remaining partial term of office. The process begins at the meeting with Local Council presidents nominating candidates for each position, followed by a review of candidates and a vote.

Those interested in an MEC Officer position must submit a willingness to serve to the AFA-CWA Secretary-Treasurer Kevin Creighan at Willingness to Serve letters and resumes of interested candidates will be posted here within 24 hours of receipt or the next business day.

Current willingness to serve information appears below:

MEC President

Ken Diaz (Submitted 8/31)


MEC Vice President

Adam Novish (Submitted 8/31)

Sheryl Kee (Submitted 8/31)

Michelle Delfino (Submitted 9/2)

Randy Hatfield (Submitted 9/5)


MEC Secretary-Treasurer

Harold Howard (Submitted 8/31)

Jeffrey Heisey (Submitted 8/31)

MEC Officer Election Results

MEC President

Ken Diaz, EWR - Council 6 was elected unanimously by acclamation.

MEC Vice President

Adam Novish, ORD - Council 36 was elected to serve as MEC Vice President.

    6   7   8   9   11   12   14   20   21   25   26   27   36   37   38   42   60   62   63   64   65
Michelle Delfino          
Randy Hatfield                   X       X   X X X X X  
Sheryl Kee          
Adam Novish X X X X X X X X X   X X X   X           X

MEC Secretary-Treasurer

Jeffrey W. Heisey, LHR - Council 7 was elected to serve as MEC Secretary-Treasurer.

    6   7   8   9   11   12   14   20   21   25   26   27   36   37   38   42   60   62   63   64   65
Michelle Delfino          
Harold Howard                           X     X X X X  
Jeffrey Heisey X X X X X X X X X X X X X   X X         X

Share this: